REDUSE PLASTICS!!!!!!

03/01/2010 21:12

 

Do not use plastic bags for every produce item. I used to put one apple in a bag, grapes in a bag, oranges in a bag, lettuce in a bag. Now I skip the bags and place the items in my basket or canvas bag. Speaking of which...

 

  • Step 2

    Get a reusable shopping bag. After unloading your groceries, put it back in your car so you do not forget it. If you forget to bring it, ask for paper bags and recycle them when done. If you do get plastic bags, save them and bring them back to the store (recycle) or use them for other purposes.

  • Step 3

    Skip the plastic bag for sweaty clothes. My gym has a roll of paper bags, just like the produce aisles, for people to store their gym clothes. I almost always come home after the gym, so I do not need to use a plastic bag. Even if I do not come directly home, I wrap the clothes inside my towel and skip the bag. My gym bag does not reek (smell bad) even two years later.

  • Step 4

    Cancel newspaper and magazine subscriptions, or ask them to eliminate the plastic bags/covers. This is hard to say but I am thinking of cancelling my newspaper subscription, since they are eliminating sections, reducing features and quality, and I can get most of the information on the Internet or TV.

  • Step 5

    Say "No, Thank you" to store's plastic bags. If you buy a blender at a department store, you do not need one of their big plastic bags. Some people suggest leaving the packaging with the retailer, too.

     

  • Back